This site best viewed at 800x600 or greater resolution. Please support Our Advertisers. They make this site possible!

HistoricalTrekking.com
Small Horizontal Row
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in
 CalendarCalendar   LinksLinks 
Got a problem
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    HistoricalTrekking.com Forum Index -> Message Board
View previous topic :: View next topic  
foxriver50

PostPosted: Sat Aug 22, 2009 11:53 pm    Post subject: Got a problem Reply with quote

Im new to the flintlock. I have a Davis lock on my fowler and can not get relyable ignition, the frizzen wont spark evry time even when I think the flint is sharp. I now use the good hand knaped English flints from TOTW.
I think its because Im using English flints in a French fowler, thats the only thing I can think of
Tsegoweleh

PostPosted: Sun Aug 23, 2009 12:32 am    Post subject: Flintlock Reply with quote

Oatsayo,
The English flints are good. Thats all I use. Davis lock is good. All I can think of is to make sure your Steel (Frizzen) is clean and free of any oil or powder residue.
Perhaps the way the flint is in the jaw of the cock is the trouble try turning it over and see if that works. My rifle likes the bevel up, but some like it down.
The flint must be sharp.

Now if you are getting sparks but no ignition thats another problem.
foxriver50

PostPosted: Sun Aug 23, 2009 12:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ive tryed the flint up and down, so far it dosnt seem to mater.
Im wondering if it may be the way i knap. what side do you flak from.
I seem to always have the pan flash when the lock does spark, some times thats all I get, I just bored the flash hole from 1/16 to 5/32, I think that helps alot. Im thinken about puting in a liner but havnt worked up the curage yet.
longhunter49
User